Your Love is My Drug (or: Why I’m a vegan)

(Two days in a row. What?)

I really dislike Kesha. I think the College Humor video named “Sing Talk” is pretty spot on regarding her talent (or lack thereof) and music (if we can call it that). If you haven’t seen it I would recommend you Google it.

Anyway, on Tuesday I spent the day with my family as sort of a farewell thing. We were telling my niece the Christian creation myth and how it relates to modern thoughts and such when I realized it might be fun to share with my readers my vegan-creation myth… or origin story, whatevs.

On my recent trips out of town I have had plenty of time to read. I immediately jumped at the chance and hit the reading list I’ve been putting on the back-burner due to schoolwork and such. These books included:

Vegan: The New Ethics of Eating (Erik Marcus)

Eating Animals (Jonathan Safran Foer)

Vegan Freak: Being Vegan in a Non-Vegan World (Jenna and Bob Torres)

The days of quite preponderance upon the subject allowed me to once again re-evaluate all the reasons for which I maintain a vegan lifestyle. I will be the first to admit that I jumped full-force into something that I didn’t really know much about or fully understand. At the time I was dating a girl (shocker) who turned out to be a powerful catalyst in my decision making process. We were laying in bed together one night and watching one of those slaughterhouse videos that PETA hands out and I turned to her (a lifelong vegetarian) and asked if she ever considered going vegan. The question at the time didn’t seem too morally or ethically pressing– it was moreso from the standpoint of curiosity. It’s one of those moments that can’t really be recognized at that exact point in time but, upon recollection, was full of vibrant significance. Likewise, her answer was not then and is not now important (feel the spite?).

I did not sleep well that night. Human beings (at least most of those that I have encountered in my life) have the most amazing ability to shut out certain aspects of society which they can’t really bear to acknowledge. Factory farming and agribusiness tend to be two such areas which often show a disconnect between knowledge and actions. I suppose that sitting here as a vegan I am much more likely to be harsh on non-vegans, because truthfully I don’t really remember much of my thoughts on vegetarianism (or veganism) before I became one myself. However, I have to imagine that I was aware of agribusiness and factory farming and that rather than experiencing intense cognitive dissonance about the whole affair I simply chose to ‘forget’ what I knew every time I picked up a fork. If I hadn’t practiced this forgetting, I’ve come to believe, there would’ve been no rational way in which I could have been eating the food that I was.

Those of you that know me relatively well know that I am not a militant vegan. I have no qualms with who I am or what I believe, and I go to lengths usually to avoid the “Oh, he’s VEGAN” comments and discussions. But I would be remiss if I did not state that I am often extremely disappointed in omnivores and vegetarians. I don’t mean this to sound elitist or judgmental (although it is certainly judgmental).

This entry was posted in Vibrant Significance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

