It’s 9 o’clock on a Saturday… (Well, ok, 7 on a Friday!)

So here I sit. Suvarnabhumi International Airport, Bangkok. In less than one hour I will be sitting comfortably (??) on an airplane pushing hard to reach cruising velocity. My destination, Shenzhen, China, is the first stop on a 43 hour last-gasp-extravaganza to make it home to Kaifeng by February 21st.

I left Kaifeng on January 14th to explore the great world that is Southeast Asia. 36 days of hauling around a small backpack, struggling to find consistently hot showers, exhausting myself on overnight bus rides through terrifying unpaved mountain roads, and falling deeply in love with all of the people in this entire world.  36 days of unforgettable people, cities, and ideas. 36 days of pure, unfettered freedom.

I wrote in my journal on the 14th of January as my train pulled away from Kaifeng the following lines: “I will learn much, I am sure, but certainly understand little. The lessons gained here in this book must be unpacked slowly. Growth is a gradualt process, the likes of which can certainly take root now and continue to mold me for years to come.”

As I sit here thinking about the past 36 days, I realize that this statement couldn’t be more correct. I will do my best upon my return to Kaifeng to update this blog about the trip. Be patient. Be kind.

This entry was posted in Vibrant Significance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s 9 o’clock on a Saturday… (Well, ok, 7 on a Friday!)

  1. Victoria says:

    Wahoo! I can barely wait to read your posts and see your pictures!!!

Leave a Reply

