32/50 – Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust

I’m a pretty clean person in general. I like to keep a clean apartment or house (you can ask my old roommate, Steve). But I have absolutely given up any such ambition here in China. Posted above you will see a picture of one of my chairs. I dusted it less than a week ago. That much dust and dirt collects in less than a week. I made the finger swipe to really illustrate the dust.

But that’s not the worst of it. Check this out:

It’s not easy to see, but that’s the edge of my bathtub. Yes. The place that gets hit with water every day. I clean it on a weekly basis as well and it still manages to grow this layer of filth and dirt.

And the worst part is that we sleep in this every night. This is not your typical dust made up of mostly dead skin… I once closed off an entire part of my room and left it untouched for several weeks. I really never went into it and I kept the windows closed. The dust that accumulated was immense.

This entry was posted in 50 Posts for 50 Days, China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

