49/50 – Mr. Hou Jian

In my mind, there are no words to really describe Mr. Hou (pronounced ‘hoe). He has been my teaching assistant for the past year and has been a continuous source of interest. He generally arrives at my apartment unannounced, asks me to proofread a paper for a translation contest, asks me some abstract questions about philosophy, and then disappears for another month.

Mr. Hou has a good heart, and in his own way he’s managed to accomplish quite a lot for me. Although I often wish that he’d do things in a more ‘American’ way, I think I’m close enough to the end of this experience to reflect back and see that this is, in fact, just another problem I have with China.

This entry was posted in 50 Posts for 50 Days, China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

