Transitions

I got a job.

It’s not the best job in the world, but it’s a job. It’s a job in an economy that is lacking. It’s a job that will allow me to finally settle down in one area for an extended period of time. To make new friends, fall in love with the world around me, and learn more about myself.

I got a job. I’ve been working there for just over a month and the responsibility is already overwhelming. My boss is excellent. A teamplayer of the highest caliber with all the professionalism, humility, and politeness one might expect from the Japanese. His ability to take my opinions into serious consideration despite the knowledge and experience gap that I have is astounding. I respect him.

I got a job. But funny things happen every day at work. Really ridiculous office hijinks that television comedies like The Office have parodied. I’ll blog about it sometimes, but I don’t know if you’ll enjoy it. Primarily it’s for my own enjoyment and rememberance. This is a transition.

I got a job. I left China behind 3 months ago, and as the time has passed so have I come to grips with that experience. The bitterness of those days has begun to fade, and although I will never admit to having had a good time in China, I will admit to missing the freedom and sense of adventure that I was afforded for a year. I will admit that I made some great friends and connections.

I got a job. When it comes down to it, from August 2010 to July 2011 I didn’t grow much professionally. I have felt, and still feel, that China did not push us to exceed expectations. Primarily because we lacked any set of expectations. Perhaps a stronger person than I could have succeeded at this task. Perhaps Ben Gutscher did that. Perhaps China just wasn’t my cup of tea. Wasn’t my bag. Didn’t suit my tastes. Felt too stagnant.

Live and learn. Make mistakes and grow. Struggle and fight. Go home, or go out. But do something. Always do something.

Occupy Wall Street. Participate in NoBankNovember. Develop a revolutionary MP3 player. Write a bucket list, burn the list, and write it again. Read a book. Learn an instrument. Invest in yourself. Love yourself. Love who you are. Find love and compassion outside of yourself. Love others. Smell the flowers. Do whatever makes you happy. Go and live. Stop and die. Your choice.

This entry was posted in Vibrant Significance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transitions

  1. Linda Marx says:

    Jon-Michael – This type of learning occurs through reflection. Give it some time. I, however, am going to take your advice and retire!

Leave a Reply

